2015 Physics Olympiad


2012 Winners

2011 Winners click here

The 2012 Olympiad has been a great day for all participants and volunteers, filled with science competitions and leisurely activities.

All participating schools have received a plaque commemorating their participation in the 2012 Michigan Physics Olympiad.

All participating students have received a participation certificate.

The overall school rankings in the 2012 competition were:

1st Place East Lansing High School
2nd Place Cranbrook Kingswood
3rd Place Athens High School

For schools with more than one team, these rankings are representative for all teams of these schools.

In each of the seven events, teams winning first, second and third places were determined. The winning students received a certificate and a medal.

In the table below, we list the winners of the individual events and their Olympiad Team Numbers. If you find your name mis-spelled or wrong, please let us know. The Olympiad Team Numbers were assigned by the Olympiad preparation committee. For schools with more than one team, the Olympiad Team Numbers differ from your school's internal team numbers.

Rank Laser Maze Trebuchet Pasta Bridge ROG Ramble
1st Place Cranbrook
(Nopphon Siranart, Il Jae Lee)
(Mario Ramirez, Andrew Robinson)
East Lansing 1
(Neil Syal, Jacob Baird-Mejia)
East Lansing 2
(Shiwani Bisht, Katlyn Lindstrom)
2nd Place East Lansing 2
(George Kariagin, David Munroe)
East Lansing 1
(Alejandro Calderon, Ian Hoopingarner)
(Henry Li, Joe Horne)
East Lansing 1
(Alejandro Calderon, Mauricio Martinez)
3rd Place East Lansing 1
(Aaron Beckett, Ian Hoopingarner)
Michigan Islamic
(Muhammad Hassan, Kamel Ghali)
(Chia Dai, Clayton Kramp)
(Charlie Swett, Alisa Abraham)


Rank Small Hadron Collider Solar Car Physics Bowl
1st Place Athens
(Charlotte Shreve, Alisa Abraham)
Michigan Islamic
(Meryam Nahlawi, Sumayya Atmeh)
2nd Place East Lansing 1
(Andrew Kaplowitz, Noah Last)
East Lansing 1
(Aaron Beckett, Noah Last)
East Lansing 1
3rd Place East Lansing 2
(Samuel Lofgren, Connor Pearsall)
Hamtramck 1
(Jenny Ghose, Tazia Miah)

In addition to trophies, medals and certificates, the U.S. Air Force presented three trophies for:

John Bowditch from the Ann Arbor Hands On Museum presented exhibits during the breaks.

Olympiad Contact Information
University of Michigan, Physics Department, Randall Laboratory
Prof. Georg Raithel, email: graithel@umich.edu

The University of Michigan. All rights reserved.
THE UNIVERSITY OF MICHIGAN PHYSICS OLYMPIAD is a Service Mark registered in the State of Michigan.
The University of Michigan Physics Olympiad has no connection, association, or implied authorization by the USOC, the IOC, or the IPC.
Revised: April 2015.