2015 Physics Olympiad


2013 Winners

2012 Winners click here

The 2013 Olympiad has been a great day for all participants and volunteers, filled with science competitions and leisurely activities.

All participating schools have received a plaque commemorating their participation in the 2013 Michigan Physics Olympiad.

All participating students have received a participation certificate.

The overall school rankings in the 2013 competition were:

1st Place East Lansing High School
2nd Place Monroe High School
3rd Place Cranbrook Kingswood

For schools with more than one team, these rankings are representative for all teams of these schools. This year there was no school with more than one team.

In each of the seven events, teams winning first, second and third places were determined. The winning students received a certificate and a medal.

In the table below, we list the winners of the individual events and their Olympiad Team Numbers. If you find your name mis-spelled or wrong, please let us know. The Olympiad Team Numbers were assigned by the Olympiad preparation committee. For schools with more than one team, the Olympiad Team Numbers differ from your school's internal team numbers.

Rank Electric Drag Race Katapult Range Pasta Bridge Small Hadron Collider
1st Place Monroe
(Nick Bellestri, Michael Ammerman)
(Adam Dushane, Anthony Zaccarella)
East Lansing
(Hannah Cregg, Tanvi Joshi, Jakob Williams)
Michigan Islamic Ac.
(Ziad Buchh, Mohammed Baghdadi)
2nd Place East Lansing
(Colin McCornack, Hannah Cregg)
East Lansing
(Hannah Cregg, Tanvi Joshi)
(Stephane Teste, Daniel Lin)
(Daniel Lin, Mon Tawabatr)
3rd Place Hamtramck
(Jenny Ghose, Tazia Miah)
(Joe Horne, Isaac Springer)
(Susmetha Baidya, Ilma Bilic, Lubna Begum)
(Adam Dushane, Donovin Peterman)


Rank Super Capacitor Launcher ROG Ramble Physics Bowl
1st Place Monroe
(Jake Carps, Bailey Bergquist)
East Lansing
(George Spears, Joseph Ambrose)
(Entire team)
2nd Place Hamtramck
(Amal Alzendani, Tazia Miah)
(Maddie Smith, Matthew Bell)
Cranbrook / East Lansing (tied)
(Entire teams)
3rd Place Cranbrook
(Chia Dai, Mon Tawabatr)
(Amal Alzendani, Ilma Bilic)

Olympiad Contact Information
University of Michigan, Physics Department, Randall Laboratory
Prof. Georg Raithel, email: graithel@umich.edu

The University of Michigan. All rights reserved.
THE UNIVERSITY OF MICHIGAN PHYSICS OLYMPIAD is a Service Mark registered in the State of Michigan.
The University of Michigan Physics Olympiad has no connection, association, or implied authorization by the USOC, the IOC, or the IPC.
Revised: April 2015.